top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSydney DeNisio

Blog 8 - Media in Easter Mass

As discussed in previous blogs, the Catholic Church uses media in mass, at Church events, on the internet and more to educate both Catholics and non-catholics, to spread the word of God, to aid in communication, to help guide mass, etc. The Church does so because according to Communio et Progressio, the Church views media as “gifts of God” (1971, 2). These gifts are meant to aid Catholics in doing God’s work, spreading His word, and making His messages available and understandable. During the 11:30 Easter mass I attended this morning, I noticed use of media by the Catholic Church in multiple ways. I first noticed it in the paper leaflets that were laying on the pews. These handouts contained an order for the mass, hymnal numbers, responses to the Gospel, and more. There were also song books on the pews which were used by many parishioners, including myself, to help guide us when singing. These media were helpful for organizing the mass. There was also a Bible on the pulpit from which the priest and other speakers read throughout the mass. In addition, I noticed that the priest used a microphone both at the pulpit and when he stood in front of the altar to give his homily. These media were used to spread the word to everyone at the service, rather than those who sat near the front. I also observed the use of a microphone and speakers during the Holy Procession on Friday. I was surprised by this because the event was outside and I had assumed that these objects wouldn’t be needed. However, they were utilized by the priest when he would pause the procession to pray. I also saw the priest using his phone to check the time and to read scripture from during the procession. I have included a photo below. I found this interesting because I would have expected him to carry and read from a Bible. I assume the use of his cell phone was necessary because it would’ve been too dark to read from a book. The observations I have made over the last week help me to better understand the various ways in which the Catholic Church uses media.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog 7 - Internet Use of Catholic Church

As discussed in previous blog posts, the Catholic Church utilizes media like the internet to help spread the gospel and Catholic teachings both to believers and non-believers. The internet is a great

Blog 6: News Media and Guest Lecture

On March 26, 2019, BBC News posted an article by James Reynolds titled, “Pope's ring-kissing controversy not what it seems”. In this brief article, Reynolds describes and analyzes the events that took

bottom of page