top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSydney DeNisio

Week 4: Siena

This week, we went to Siena and it was one of my favorite cities we’ve visited as a group so far. I also enjoyed it because it was the first Italian city we visited as a class that I hadn’t already been to. I had no idea what to expect going into the trip, but was very excited to see what Siena had to offer. This gorgeous and culturally rich city did not disappoint!


One of my favorite things about Siena was the history of the 17 neighborhoods and the annual Palio races. It was so fascinating to hear about the neighborhoods, their origins, symbols, and other traditions. As we walked through the quiet, cobblestone streets and took in one of the most beautiful days we’ve had this semester, I felt myself remembering why I wanted to be apart of this trip in the first place. The larger Italian cities like Rome and Florence are wonderful, but there was something so authentic and welcoming about small-town Siena. Everyone we came across was kind and friendly which is almost ironic considering the fierce rivalry of the districts within the city walls.


I also loved watching my peers engage with and want to become a part of the city’s culture through the different districts. By the end of our perfect day in Siena, each of us had chosen a district that we felt connected to. I choose Nicchio, the neighborhood in Eastern Siena that was traditionally made up of potters. Their banner has a scallop, coral, and stars. I’m not really sure why I felt so drawn to that district, but I think it was probably because of their seashell symbol. Vaughn would’ve been Drago (the dragon), Lainey liked Bruco (the caterpillar), Lauren’s favorite was Selva (the forest), Miles wanted to be a Tartuca (the turtle) and the list goes on! Some people bought pins or stickers with their chosen district's seal to remember our visit.


I had such a great experience in Siena this week that I told my mom to take a day trip there while she is here after our spring break concludes. I can’t wait to see if she enjoys it as much as I did.


That’s all for now! Be back soon!


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog 7 - Internet Use of Catholic Church

As discussed in previous blog posts, the Catholic Church utilizes media like the internet to help spread the gospel and Catholic teachings both to believers and non-believers. The internet is a great

Blog 6: News Media and Guest Lecture

On March 26, 2019, BBC News posted an article by James Reynolds titled, “Pope's ring-kissing controversy not what it seems”. In this brief article, Reynolds describes and analyzes the events that took

bottom of page